What the panel ordered
Findings, Award and Order of August 27, 2021, rescinded; Compromise and Release filed March 11, 2022, approved by WCAB.
Petition for reconsideration filed by Farmers Insurance Group/Mid-Century Insurance Company challenging WCJ's finding of permanent total disability; WCJ recommended denial of petition; parties later agreed to resolve by Compromise and Release.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The WCJ found permanent total disability caused by work injuries; Farmers contested this finding; the WCAB rescinded the WCJ's findings and approved a Compromise and Release settlement instead.
From the decision · page 1I. Defendant, Farmers Insurance Group/Mid-Century Insurance Company (Farmers) petitioned for reconsideration of the Findings, Award and Order issued by the workers' compensation administrative law judge (WCJ) in this matter on August 27, 2021. In that decision, the WCJ found that applicant, sustained injuries to his neck, low back, upper extremities, psyche, shoulders, legs, clavicle, and head arising out of and in the course of the employment as an auto body prep man on May 23, 1995, and January 7, 1999, by defendant, Studebaker Services Auto Body, causing permanent total disability and need of further medical treatment. The WCJ awarded benefits against Farmers and defendant, State Compensation Insurance Fund (SCIF), both of which insured the employer for workers' compensation liability during certain periods. The WCJ ordered Farmers to administer the award and reserved jurisdiction to enforce Farmers' right to contribution from SCIF for 50% of the benefits paid. Farmers contends in its petition for reconsideration that the WCJ erred in finding that applicant's injuries caused permanent total disability.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Favours neutral
The settlement replaced the WCJ's findings and award, leading to approval by the WCAB.
applicant sustained injuries to neck, low back, upper extremities, psyche, shoulders, legs, clavicle, and head arising out of employment on May 23, 1995, and January 7, 1999.
Favours Applicant prevailed
These injuries were the basis for the WCJ's finding of permanent total disability and the subsequent settlement.
From the decision · page 1I. Defendant, Farmers Insurance Group/Mid-Century Insurance Company (Farmers) petitioned for reconsideration of the Findings, Award and Order issued by the workers' compensation administrative law judge (WCJ) in this matter on August 27, 2021. In that decision, the WCJ found that applicant, sustained injuries to his neck, low back, upper extremities, psyche, shoulders, legs, clavicle, and head arising out of and in the course of the employment as an auto body prep man on May 23, 1995, and January 7, 1999, by defendant, Studebaker Services Auto Body, causing permanent total disability and need of further medical treatment. The WCJ awarded benefits against Farmers and defendant, State Compensation Insurance Fund (SCIF), both of which insured the employer for workers' compensation liability during certain periods. The WCJ ordered Farmers to administer the award and reserved jurisdiction to enforce Farmers' right to contribution from SCIF for 50% of the benefits paid. Farmers contends in its petition for reconsideration that the WCJ erred in finding that applicant's injuries caused permanent total disability.
Farmers Insurance Group/Mid-Century Insurance Company petitioned for reconsideration challenging the finding of permanent total disability.
Favours Defendant prevailed
This challenge led to reconsideration and eventual settlement approval by the WCAB.
From the decision · page 1I. Defendant, Farmers Insurance Group/Mid-Century Insurance Company (Farmers) petitioned for reconsideration of the Findings, Award and Order issued by the workers' compensation administrative law judge (WCJ) in this matter on August 27, 2021. In that decision, the WCJ found that applicant, sustained injuries to his neck, low back, upper extremities, psyche, shoulders, legs, clavicle, and head arising out of and in the course of the employment as an auto body prep man on May 23, 1995, and January 7, 1999, by defendant, Studebaker Services Auto Body, causing permanent total disability and need of further medical treatment. The WCJ awarded benefits against Farmers and defendant, State Compensation Insurance Fund (SCIF), both of which insured the employer for workers' compensation liability during certain periods. The WCJ ordered Farmers to administer the award and reserved jurisdiction to enforce Farmers' right to contribution from SCIF for 50% of the benefits paid. Farmers contends in its petition for reconsideration that the WCJ erred in finding that applicant's injuries caused permanent total disability.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code section 5001
Labor Code section 5001
No release of liability or compromise agreement is valid unless approved by appeals board or referee.
From the decision · page 2II. Labor Code section 5001 states in pertinent part that "[n]o release of liability or compromise agreement is valid unless it is approved by appeals board or referee." WCAB Rule 10700 states that:
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, 10700
WCAB Rule 10700
The WCAB shall inquire into adequacy of compromise and release agreements and may hold hearings to determine approval.
From the decision · page 2"The Workers' Compensation Appeals Board shall inquire into the adequacy of all compromise and release agreements and stipulations with request for award, and may set the matter for hearing to take evidence when necessary to determine whether the agreement should be approved or disapproved, or issue findings and awards." (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, § 10700.)
Labor Code section 5002
Labor Code section 5002
Upon filing and approval by the appeals board, an award may be entered based on the release or compromise agreement.
From the decision · page 2"A copy of the release or compromise agreement signed by both parties shall forthwith be filed with the appeals board. Upon filing with and approval by the appeals board, it may, without notice, of its own motion or on the application of either party, enter its award based upon the release or compromise agreement."
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.