What the panel ordered
Petition for Reconsideration denied; original award of temporary disability benefits affirmed
Petition for Reconsideration filed by Defendant seeking to invalidate award of temporary disability; WCJ report reviewed and adopted recommending denial of reconsideration
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The Board and WCJ found that the Applicant was entitled to temporary disability benefits despite the employer's inability to provide modified duty due to COVID-19 related business closure, relying on established case law and Labor Code provisions that place the burden on the employer to show availability of suitable work and do not excuse employer liability due to market forces such as a pandemic.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Applicant was temporarily disabled due to an industrial injury to his back on October 18, 2018.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Established the basis for entitlement to temporary disability benefits under workers' compensation law.
Applicant continued working on modified duty until employer shutdown on March 14, 2020 due to COVID-19 pandemic, after which no suitable modified duty was available from employer.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Demonstrated that the lack of available modified duty was due to external market forces, not Applicant's fault, supporting entitlement to temporary disability benefits.
From the decision · page 3At trial on March 12, 2021 the parties stipulated to the following facts: Following his industrial injury, the Applicant continued working on modified duty until March 13, 2020; beginning March 14, 2020 the Applicant's employer shut down following the COVID Pandemic. From March 14, 2020 through present and during all times in question the Applicant has been on modified duty. The Applicant obtained replacement employment beginning September 1, 2020.
Defendant's argument that Applicant was terminated for cause due to the pandemic was rejected as unsupported and inconsistent with workers' compensation law.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Confirmed that Applicant's temporary disability benefits should not be terminated based on employer's pandemic-related business closure.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code section 4654
Labor Code section 4654 requires evaluation of causes of disability and apportionment of compensation accordingly.
Applied to determine that the Applicant is entitled to temporary disability benefits despite COVID-19 related business closure.
From the decision · page 5An appropriate reading of Labor Code section 4654 leads to the conclusion that an award of temporary disability in the current circumstances is appropriate. In order to determine that an Applicant is not entitled to temporary disability, an evaluation of the causes of disability must be completed by the undersigned. The Court of Appeals has previously held "if some other ascertainable cause other than the injury substantially contributes to his inability to earn wages, such separate cause must be separately evaluated, and only the proportion chargeable to the industrial injury allowed as compensation. In such a case specific findings are required." Hardware Mut. Casualty Co. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd., 253 Cal. App. 2d 62, 66. In Hardware the Court of Appeals determined the Applicant was not entitled to temporary disability benefits because the Applicant was discharged from employment for causes unrelated to his injury. As a matter of public policy, reading Hardware in a manner that awards the Applicant temporary disability is consistent with the Labor Code section 3202 mandate for liberal construction of the law in favor of the Applicant.
Labor Code section 3202
Labor Code section 3202 mandates liberal construction of workers' compensation law in favor of the injured worker.
Applied to reject Defendant's argument that pandemic-related business closure excuses employer liability for temporary disability benefits.
From the decision · page 5In such a circumstances, an employer could avoid liability for temporary disability by asserting market forces of any variety, including a pandemic, but conceivably including but not limited to a landlord's closure of a location or a business failure had required closure of their business; the injured worker in such a circumstance would be unable to apply for unemployment insurance and also not eligible for temporary disability. This reasoning is consistent with the Board's holding in Owens and Bedoya, supra. Labor Code section 3202 dictates against reaching such a conclusion. The undersigned recognizes the COVID-19 crisis is the causal factor of the employer's inability to provide modified duty; the clear history of case law on the issue demonstrates that where the Applicant is not the cause of the inability to work, the employer is liable for payment of temporary disability. As discussed above, nothing makes the COVID-19 related crisis distinguishable.
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Applicant's continued work on modified duty until employer shutdown due to COVID-19 pandemic; no misconduct by Applicant to justify termination of temporary disability benefits
From the decision · page 3At trial on March 12, 2021 the parties stipulated to the following facts: Following his industrial injury, the Applicant continued working on modified duty until March 13, 2020; beginning March 14, 2020 the Applicant's employer shut down following the COVID Pandemic. From March 14, 2020 through present and during all times in question the Applicant has been on modified duty. The Applicant obtained replacement employment beginning September 1, 2020.
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.