What the panel ordered
Defendant's Petition for Reconsideration is denied.
Defendant sought reconsideration of the WCJ's Findings of Fact of November 9, 2020, which found an industrial injury and denied statute of limitations bar.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The WCJ found the applicant sustained a specific injury on May 14, 2017, and that the claim was not barred by the statute of limitations because the statute was tolled until the applicant received a DWC-1 form on August 1, 2018, and the application was filed within one year thereafter.
From the decision · page 1Defendant seeks reconsideration of a workers' compensation administrative law judge's (WCJ) Findings of Fact of November 9, 2020, wherein it was found that while employed as a seasonal tractor driver on May 14, 2017, applicant sustained industrial injury to his neck. In finding an industrial injury, the WCJ found that applicant's claim was not barred by the statute of limitations. Additionally, the WCJ found a specific injury despite the fact that applicant alleged a cumulative injury in his Application for Adjudication of Claim.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Applicant reported injury to supervisor, which the WCJ found credible over defendant's contrary testimony.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This finding established the defendant's duty to provide the DWC-1 form, tolling the statute of limitations.
From the decision · page 3In this case, the WCJ believed the applicant's testimony that he reported his injury to his supervisor, and disbelieved the defendant's witnesses' testimony to the contrary. A WCJ's credibility determinations are "entitled to great weight." (Garza v. Workmen's Comp. App. Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 312, 318-319 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 500].) The defendant thus had the duty pursuant to Labor Code section 5401 to give applicant the DWC-1 form containing notice of his workers' compensation rights, and the statute of limitations was tolled until he was given the form or otherwise obtained actual knowledge of his rights. Defendant asserts that applicant obtained knowledge of his workers' compensation rights in August of 2018. Given that applicant signed a DWC-1 form on August 1, 2018, we agree that the tolling period ended on that date. However, applicant filed his Application for Adjudication just two months later on October 1, 2018, well within the one-year period from when the tolling ceased. As noted above, even though applicant's Application alleged a cumulative injury, his claim of specific injury related back to his timely October 1, 2018 filing.
Applicant signed the DWC-1 form on August 1, 2018, ending the tolling period for the statute of limitations.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This date started the one-year statute of limitations period within which the application was timely filed.
From the decision · page 3In this case, the WCJ believed the applicant's testimony that he reported his injury to his supervisor, and disbelieved the defendant's witnesses' testimony to the contrary. A WCJ's credibility determinations are "entitled to great weight." (Garza v. Workmen's Comp. App. Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 312, 318-319 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 500].) The defendant thus had the duty pursuant to Labor Code section 5401 to give applicant the DWC-1 form containing notice of his workers' compensation rights, and the statute of limitations was tolled until he was given the form or otherwise obtained actual knowledge of his rights. Defendant asserts that applicant obtained knowledge of his workers' compensation rights in August of 2018. Given that applicant signed a DWC-1 form on August 1, 2018, we agree that the tolling period ended on that date. However, applicant filed his Application for Adjudication just two months later on October 1, 2018, well within the one-year period from when the tolling ceased. As noted above, even though applicant's Application alleged a cumulative injury, his claim of specific injury related back to his timely October 1, 2018 filing.
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Determined whether the injury was specific or cumulative based on the unified set of facts and medical records; found operative facts were identical for both injury types.
From the decision · page 2As noted in Western Growers Ins. Co. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (Austin) (1993) 16 Cal.App.4th 227, 234-235 [58 Cal.Comp.Cases 323], "In any given situation, there can be more than one injury, either specific or cumulative or a combination of both, arising from the same event or from separate events. [Citations.] The number and nature of the injuries suffered are questions of fact for the WCJ or the WCAB. [Citations.]" Here, qualified medical evaluator orthopedist Keith A. Robertson, M.D. was given a history and set of medical records and asked to determine whether the unified set of facts constituted a specific or cumulative injury. The operative facts underlying the potential specific or cumulative injury were identical. Additionally, as noted by the WCJ, defendant was alerted early in the litigation, at applicant's deposition on April 23, 20191, that applicant was asserting a specific rather than cumulative injury. (April 23, 2019 report at p. 10.)2 Defendant was not surprised or prejudiced by the allegation and finding of a specific injury.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code section 5401
The statute of limitations is tolled by an employer's failure to notify an injured employee of a potential right to benefits as required by Labor Code section 5401(a).
The defendant had the duty to provide the applicant with a DWC-1 form notifying him of his workers' compensation rights, and the statute was tolled until the applicant received the form or had actual knowledge of his rights.
From the decision · page 3sufficient to prove such avoidance." (Permanente Medical Group v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (Williams) (1985) 171 Cal.App.3d 1171, 1184 [50 Cal.Comp.Cases 491].) One such exemption or exception is that the statute is tolled by an employer's failure to notify an injured employee of a potential right to benefits, as required by Labor Code section 5401(a). (Martin, supra, 39 Cal.3d at p. 60.) Pursuant to Labor Code section 5401, within one day of receiving notice of the applicant's injury, defendant was required to send the applicant a DWC-1 form which apprises the injured worker of his or her potential eligibility for workers' compensation benefits under California law. (Labor Code, § 5401, subd. (a).) The Supreme Court has held that "the remedy for breach of an employer's duty to notify is a tolling of the statute of limitations if the employee, without that tolling, is prejudiced by the breach." (Martin, supra, 39 Cal.3d at p. 64.)
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
WCJ credited applicant's testimony that he reported injury to supervisor and disbelieved defendant's witnesses' contrary testimony.
From the decision · page 3In this case, the WCJ believed the applicant's testimony that he reported his injury to his supervisor, and disbelieved the defendant's witnesses' testimony to the contrary. A WCJ's credibility determinations are "entitled to great weight." (Garza v. Workmen's Comp. App. Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 312, 318-319 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 500].) The defendant thus had the duty pursuant to Labor Code section 5401 to give applicant the DWC-1 form containing notice of his workers' compensation rights, and the statute of limitations was tolled until he was given the form or otherwise obtained actual knowledge of his rights. Defendant asserts that applicant obtained knowledge of his workers' compensation rights in August of 2018. Given that applicant signed a DWC-1 form on August 1, 2018, we agree that the tolling period ended on that date. However, applicant filed his Application for Adjudication just two months later on October 1, 2018, well within the one-year period from when the tolling ceased. As noted above, even though applicant's Application alleged a cumulative injury, his claim of specific injury related back to his timely October 1, 2018 filing.
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.