What the panel ordered
The Petition for Reconsideration was granted in part, amending the WCJ's decision to allow credit only for permanent disability paid pursuant to the 21 percent award and striking credits for days worked, section 4850 benefits, and temporary total disability indemnity. The rest of the F&A was affirmed.
Applicant sought reconsideration of the WCJ's Findings of Fact and Award issued on July 21, 2025, challenging the application of credits against the permanent disability award.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The Board found that credits for days worked, section 4850 benefits, and temporary total disability indemnity were not justified against the permanent disability award, which compensates for physical loss and future earning capacity, not just lost wages.
From the decision · page 5earnings, and for temporary disability and section 4850 benefits that were paid under both this case and another case. Our inquiry is therefore limited to whether the WCJ properly allowed credit for anything other than for permanent disability that was paid in this case. We conclude that in this case the record does not justify any credit for temporary disability indemnity, salary, or payments of benefits in lieu of temporary disability under section 4850.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Permanent disability compensates for physical loss and loss of future earning capacity, not just lost wages.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This legal understanding supports disallowing credits for wages and temporary disability benefits against permanent disability indemnity.
From the decision · page 5The award in this case is not an award of temporary disability benefits, but of permanent disability indemnity. Permanent disability, unlike temporary disability, does not compensate solely for lost wages. As acknowledged by the California Supreme Court in Brodie v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, permanent disability is understood as "the irreversible residual of an injury." (Brodie v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2007) 40 Cal.4th 1313, 1320 [72 Cal.Comp.Cases 565], citing Kopping v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2006) 142 Cal.App.4th 1099, 1111 [71 Cal.Comp.Cases 1229].)
Section 4850 benefits are in lieu of temporary disability benefits, not permanent disability benefits.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Supports the conclusion that section 4850 benefits should not reduce permanent disability indemnity.
From the decision · page 5Section 4850(a) states that whenever any person is "temporarily or permanently" disabled due to a work injury, that person is entitled to "a leave of absence while so disabled without loss of salary in lieu of temporary disability payments" up to a year or until retired "on permanent disability pension" and "actually receiving disability pension payments, or advanced disability
Applicant died of industrial cancer at age 51, resulting in loss of decades of earnings and pension beyond maximum benefit rates.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Negates any unjust enrichment argument for crediting wages or temporary disability benefits against permanent disability.
From the decision · page 6Here applicant died of industrial cancer at the age of 51, resulting in an actual loss of decades of earnings and pension in excess of maximum benefit rates, so any unjust enrichment argument is inapposite. The Legislature has determined that employees in the public safety sector are entitled to enhanced temporary disability benefits under section 4850, and in this case, applicant has not been unjustly enriched by the provision of such benefits in addition to statutorily prescribed temporary disability and permanent disability benefits for her injuries.
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Supported the finding of 100 percent permanent total disability.
From the decision · page 3The issues submitted for decision at trial were permanent disability, attorney fees, the commencement date for permanent disability resulting from applicant's petition to reopen for new and further disability, and whether the matter should proceed forward to trial or be taken off calendar for further discovery and cross-examination of the Agreed Medical Evaluator (AME) on defendant's motion. (Id. page 3, numbered lines 12-19.) The parties submitted joint exhibits consisting of medical reports from both AME Robert Meth, M.D., and reports and a deposition transcript from AME Marc Meth, M.D. (Id., pages 3-4.) Defendant offered a subrosa video which was not admitted into evidence based on lack of foundation. (Ibid.)
Supported the finding of 100 percent permanent total disability.
From the decision · page 3The issues submitted for decision at trial were permanent disability, attorney fees, the commencement date for permanent disability resulting from applicant's petition to reopen for new and further disability, and whether the matter should proceed forward to trial or be taken off calendar for further discovery and cross-examination of the Agreed Medical Evaluator (AME) on defendant's motion. (Id. page 3, numbered lines 12-19.) The parties submitted joint exhibits consisting of medical reports from both AME Robert Meth, M.D., and reports and a deposition transcript from AME Marc Meth, M.D. (Id., pages 3-4.) Defendant offered a subrosa video which was not admitted into evidence based on lack of foundation. (Ibid.)
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code section 4661
Where an injury causes both temporary and permanent disability, compensation for permanent disability is in addition to temporary disability payments.
The Board applied this to reject credits for temporary disability payments against permanent disability indemnity.
From the decision · page 6Further, section 4661 provides that "Where an injury causes both temporary and permanent disability, the injured employee is entitled to compensation for any permanent disability sustained by him in addition to any payment received by such injured employee for temporary disability." (Lab. Code, § 4661, emphasis added.)
Brodie v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (2007) 40 Cal.4th 1313
Permanent disability compensates for physical loss and loss of future earning capacity, not just lost wages.
The Board applied this standard to reject credits for wages and temporary disability benefits against permanent disability indemnity.
From the decision · page 5The award in this case is not an award of temporary disability benefits, but of permanent disability indemnity. Permanent disability, unlike temporary disability, does not compensate solely for lost wages. As acknowledged by the California Supreme Court in Brodie v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, permanent disability is understood as "the irreversible residual of an injury." (Brodie v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2007) 40 Cal.4th 1313, 1320 [72 Cal.Comp.Cases 565], citing Kopping v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2006) 142 Cal.App.4th 1099, 1111 [71 Cal.Comp.Cases 1229].)
Labor Code section 4850
Section 4850 benefits are in lieu of temporary disability benefits, not permanent disability benefits.
The Board found that section 4850 benefits should not be credited against permanent disability indemnity.
From the decision · page 5Section 4850(a) states that whenever any person is "temporarily or permanently" disabled due to a work injury, that person is entitled to "a leave of absence while so disabled without loss of salary in lieu of temporary disability payments" up to a year or until retired "on permanent disability pension" and "actually receiving disability pension payments, or advanced disability
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
The parties stipulated to the injury and the benefits paid, including section 4850 and temporary total disability benefits.
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.