What the panel ordered
The panel affirms the February 19, 2021 Findings and Order that held California Restaurant Mutual Benefit Corporation liable for coverage of the injury due to premature policy cancellation.
Petition for reconsideration of the February 19, 2021 Findings and Order affirming coverage liability was granted to allow further study; now the panel affirms the prior Findings and Order.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The panel found that CRMBC's cancellation letter dated December 27, 2017, served as notice of cancellation, making January 27, 2018 the earliest cancellation date, which is after the injury date of November 22, 2017, thus CRMBC remains liable for coverage.
From the decision · page 6[i]n the case of cancellation or termination of coverage of a group member, whether voluntary or involuntary, the group self-insurer shall remain liable for all compensation liabilities of the group member resulting from any claim with a date of injury during the period of membership in the group self-insurer up to the effective date of the termination and revocation of the group member's Affiliate Certificate of Consent to Self-Insure, including the 45 day notice period in the event of involuntary termination. (Ibid.) Assuming that CRMBC's cancellation letter dated December 27, 2017 served as proper notice of cancellation or termination from group membership, we agree with the WCA that January 27, 2018 is the earliest possible date CRMBC could have cancelled its policy, and since the January 27, 2018 cancellation date occurs after the November 22, 2017 alleged injury, CRMBC remains liable for coverage of the subject injury.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
CRMBC sent a cancellation letter dated December 27, 2017, with a retroactive cancellation date of October 14, 2017, but accepted premium payments from OAA after that date.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This showed CRMBC waived its right to cancel the policy retroactively and was liable for coverage of the injury occurring November 22, 2017.
The earliest effective cancellation date was January 27, 2018, which is after the injury date, making CRMBC liable for coverage.
Favours Applicant prevailed
The panel relied on the timing of the cancellation notice and statutory requirements to determine coverage liability.
From the decision · page 6[i]n the case of cancellation or termination of coverage of a group member, whether voluntary or involuntary, the group self-insurer shall remain liable for all compensation liabilities of the group member resulting from any claim with a date of injury during the period of membership in the group self-insurer up to the effective date of the termination and revocation of the group member's Affiliate Certificate of Consent to Self-Insure, including the 45 day notice period in the event of involuntary termination. (Ibid.) Assuming that CRMBC's cancellation letter dated December 27, 2017 served as proper notice of cancellation or termination from group membership, we agree with the WCA that January 27, 2018 is the earliest possible date CRMBC could have cancelled its policy, and since the January 27, 2018 cancellation date occurs after the November 22, 2017 alleged injury, CRMBC remains liable for coverage of the subject injury.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Insurance Code section 676.8
Insurance Code section 676.8 requires proper notice and timing for policy cancellation to be effective.
The panel applied this statute to determine that the cancellation notice was premature and thus ineffective.
From the decision · page 3II. Turning now to the merits of the Petition, Insurance Code section 676.8 states, in relevant part, that: (b) After a policy is in effect, a notice of cancellation shall not be effective unless it complies with the notice requirements of this section and is based upon the occurrence, after the effective date of the policy, of one or more of the following:
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, 15480
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, 15480 requires 45-day advance written notice for cancellation of group self-insurer membership.
The panel applied this regulation to find CRMBC estopped from denying coverage due to failure to provide required notice.
From the decision · page 5Here, in accepting payment and failing to issue advance written notice of termination or cancellation of group membership for a period of 45 days prior to termination or cancellation, as required under AD Rule 15480, CRMBC is estopped from alleging that it does not have coverage for the subject injury since OAA relied upon CRMBC for coverage and did not seek out other insurance to its detriment. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, § 15480.) AD Rule 15480 further states, in relevant part, that:
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
CRMBC accepted premium payments from OAA after the injury and cancellation notice, indicating waiver of cancellation rights.
CRMBC failed to provide required 45-day advance written notice of cancellation, estopping it from denying coverage.
From the decision · page 5Here, in accepting payment and failing to issue advance written notice of termination or cancellation of group membership for a period of 45 days prior to termination or cancellation, as required under AD Rule 15480, CRMBC is estopped from alleging that it does not have coverage for the subject injury since OAA relied upon CRMBC for coverage and did not seek out other insurance to its detriment. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, § 15480.) AD Rule 15480 further states, in relevant part, that:
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.